Midnight Skull Sessions – Episode 7

So my co-host says I have to warn you that in this episode of the podcast, I explain the mystery of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore right out of the gate. I also confirm the main character’s full name about thirty minutes in. Consider yourself warned.

I’m not a jerk about spoilers. In day to day conversation, I don’t blurt out plot twists (SHE’S REALLY FROM THE FUTURE!) and surprise developments (HE CUT OFF HER LEGS!) within earshot of people I don’t know (CHANNING TATUM AND JONAH HILL HAVE A FALLING OUT BUT THEN BECOME FRIENDS AGAIN AND SOLVE THE CASE!). Maybe they haven’t seen the latest episode of Sons of Anarchy yet (WHERE NOTHING HAPPENS AND NOTHING EVER WILL!). In person, I generally err on the side of not spoiling things in mixed company.

The podcast is different, though. The whole point is to discuss things I’ve read with other people who either have read them or never intend to. That includes how they end. It would be incredibly obnoxious if I ended every discussion topic with: “If you want to find out if she has sex with the mysterious were-giraffe, you’ll have to read the book.” Sometimes you just want to find out if the vampire sports marketer gets laid or not.

She does do not. Because sports marketers aren’t real. THEY WERE IN YOUR HEAD THE WHOLE TIME!

Books discussed this episode include: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan, Red Country by Joe Abercrombie, Origin by JA Konrath, Godwalker by Greg Stolze, and Hitchers by Will McIntosh.

Leave a Reply

