Midnight Skull Sessions – Episode 8

This was my first holiday season alone and people kept telling me to try treating the holidays like any other day. So for Christmas I played video games, ate tacos, and recorded a podcast.

Turns out it’s not a bad way to spend the holiday. Maybe this will replace watching Gremlins as my favorite Christmas Eve tradition.

Books covered in this episode include: Dodger by Terry Pratchett, Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp, 14 by Peter Clines, The List by JA Konrath, The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters, Soft Apocalypse by Will McIntosh, and Prepare To Die by Paul Tobin.

When not trying to keep my friends from dying in X-COM, I spent the last few evenings tracking down all the Will McIntosh short stories I could find. I’m waiting on a few anthologies to arrive from the library, and I should have a mega-review of them up soon. In the meantime, I highly recommend you use your Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift cards to pick up either Hitchers or Soft Apocalypse.

I’m a little out of practice writing glowing reviews, so I’m not sure my previous posts made it entirely clear. Will McIntosh is my favorite new author, and I feel like I could recommend his books to anyone. Soft Apocalypse may appeal more to people with an end of the world itch, but I think Hitchers is light enough on the weird stuff to resonate with even the most genre averse. Even people who only read literary fiction like ghosts, right?

Leave a Reply

