Midnight Skull Sessions – Episode 33

I just came back from the Harmontown documentary screening in Los Feliz. The guys in line in front of me spent ten minutes talking about their beards. Then their friend came by in a bowler hat. Luckily, I had disguised myself with a pair of glasses and by not shaving for eight days, otherwise I surely would have been called out. It was my most perilous expedition into hipster territory yet.

I also spilled Coke all over the most famous Dungeon Master in America while trying to sell him on Gumshoe. He was very polite about it and grabbed me some napkins. It was an unintentional and embarrassing accident, but make no mistake, one day I will cut off his head and take his power. Then I’ll use it to moderately increase my Internet speed.

I have pretty reasonable goals in life.

I may have something to say about the film in a couple days, but I’m still digesting it. I have similarly conflicted feelings about The Magician’s Land, which we read for this week’s podcast. It makes a bit more sense when you compare it to the final book in the C.S. Lewis’ Narnia series, which Isaac was kind enough to recount for us.

Books discuss this episode: The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman and The Final Battle by C.S. Lewis.

I’m a bit more disappointed in The Magician’s Land than I come across in the podcast, but I edited my grumpiness down because I don’t want the kids to see me and my cohost fight. Perhaps I’ll write about that soon, too. But first I need to finish reading Dataclysm, a fun book about how I’ve been doing Internet dating wrong and I’m three months away from peaking as anyone’s ideal romantic partner,

Thanks, Dataclysm! You’re a blast.

Midnight Skull Sessions episode 33 is available on iTunes and for direct download at the link below:

http://midnightskullsession.libsyn.com/

Leave a Reply

