Midnight Skull Sessions – Episode 37

The problem with publishing the podcast on Fridays is that for me it’s the start of the work week. By the time Monday comes around, all I want to do is sleep for a thousand years, and then I have all those secret society meetings on my days off. Finally, when we get around to recording te next podcast, my cohost is all, “I see the last one isn’t up yet,” except it totally is! I just haven’t written about it because it’s already Friday again.

Also, I may have a slight problem when it comes to completing side missions. I am very good at leveling up and skinning animals to unlock more inventory slots and upgrading my skills, but would rather browse terrible articles online than sit through another unskippable cut scene. Which is a long way of saying I take too long to finish things, so distractions are always on my computer and I boot them up instead of WordPress. And then I’m like, “Oh, yeah, blog!”… for about a week and a half, then I finally force myself to blog.

IMG_0082Presented without comment

Blog, blog, blog. The word itself doesn’t even sound fun. We should make a new word. I’ll have to get back to that one.

Do people even blog anymore? Or does everyone just write articles about what they read on Reddit for no money and the promise of personal brand exposure? Why do I still have Twitter when all it does is make me mad? Am I supposed to be cross-promoting podcast updates on Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, Reddit, Zoosk, OK Cupid, Cracked, Jezebel, and Snapchat? Or are there already eighty new things that people are looking at now?

All of the sudden, recruiting a podcast intern is looking pretty good. Screw this DIY ethic. Next year I’m converting to LSEDI– Let Someone Else Do It. I have books I need to be reading and if nothing else, morning pages to write. Although I do plan to write more next year, I just don’t know what it will be yet. But I know what it won’t be– BLOG POSTS. Ugh.

Whew! Felt good to get out.

Books discussed this episode include: Whom The Gods Would Destroy by Brian Hodge, Brisk Money by Adam Christopher, Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix, and City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett.

We already have two more podcasts in the bag, which is a fancy thousand-dollar bag that looks suspiciously like a laptop. First up we have a few more books to get to, and then our 37th annual Herbie’s Game Of The Year Awards! I’m a strong believer in the Internet never taking a day off, so I’ll try to get as much of that up in the dead week between Christmas and New Year’s as I can, bandwidth permitting. Plus, they’re both awesome, so there’s that to get excited about!

Good night, museum! And Merry Christmas, Movie House!

IMG_0119While other people are opening up their presents, I’m wearing this shirt

Midnight Skull Sessions episode 37 is available on iTunes. The iTunes averse can download it directly from the link below:

http://midnightskullsession.libsyn.com/

Leave a Reply

